A Newsletter on Marketing (and Life) #034

Content/Brand/AI + Rigidity vs. Fluidity

"Is what I'm currently believing helping me make progress?"

Whether it's feeling like a victim or having radical religious beliefs, we hold many things that inhibit progress.

And at the end of the day, isn't progress what we want (aside from peace and happiness)?

The struggle is that it's easy to deceive ourselves. We are unaware of the things holding us back. "The first principle is that you must not fool yourself, and you are the easiest person to fool," said Richard P. Feynman.

This is a meta thought that can get me thinking for hours. Analyzing every single belief I have. That's not helpful. However, it is beneficial to be aware of beliefs inhibiting progress and quickly discharge them.

Rather than preach from the pulpit, I'll share two I had:

#1: The sole purpose of marketing is to get leads.
#2: That hell and heaven are places we go to after we die. 

Since updating my beliefs in those two areas, I've made more progress than when I believed them.

Were they comfortable to believe? Hell yeah (especially for #2). But through the discomfort of advancing my thinking, I can make more progress.

So, what's your belief that you need to let go? 

Enjoy this week's letter:

Marketing Micro Essay 💡 S2E6: Content + Brand + AI FT. Timothy Wier

(Time to read: 3:49 minutes)

Content without strategy behind it will fail.

The same is true for great writing.

Strategy is the undercurrent for the best writing and content. And what is strategy?

Thinking.

And that’s what Timothy shares in this episode: strategies to improve your thinking, to then improve your output. Whether content, writing, or even positioning.

If you want to increase the impact of your marketing, don’t miss this episode.

Here are the top five insights from our conversation:

  1. Marketing should focus on long-term brand building (and short-term sales)

  2. Generate content that provides value (not just to increase leads)

  3. Attribution is an art (not a science)

  4. The importance of a beginner's mindset in marketing

  5. Focus on the quality of your relationships (NOT the quantity)

Three Books / Three Quotes

"The power of a brand isn't rooted in the quality of their products. The power of a brand is rooted in its own beliefs. – Ernest Lupinacci" – Brendan Kane (Hook Point: How to Stand Out in a 3-Second World)

Apple has great products. But they don't stand out when you compare their laptops (or phones) with competitors. You could argue their ecosystem is a differentiator from others. I agree. But there is something else that makes Apple different.

It's the beliefs at the core of the company. And how they've positioned themselves for creatives through the ethos of innovation and human-centric design. Look back at some of their legendary commercials where they make these beliefs tangible.

It's not about the products–aside from them delivering on their functional promise-it's about beliefs and what you stand for. So, what does your business stand for?

//

"Elite failure practitioners are flexible in their thinking, willing to let go of one line of inquiry to consider another." – Amy Edmondson (Right Kind of Wrong: The Science of Failing Well)

Strong beliefs held lightly (weakly) is a motto I live by. Most have weak beliefs held stronger. The people who learn from failure and grow from it can let go easier and find a better path.

This is a skill that comes up in life and marketing. Instead of holding onto the belief that your customers aren't on TikTok, be open to exploring the possibilities of using TikTok to connect with younger people.

The same is true when we fail. We stick with our initial reason(ing) and fail to be curious. When you fail, be open to all reasons and lines of inquiry. The reason(s) that is the most unlikely could be the most helpful.

//

"Getting to know someone, even over a lifetime of marriage, creates an illusion of insight that far surpasses actual insight." – (NEW) Nicholas Epley (Mindwise: Why We Misunderstand What Others Think, Believe, Feel, and Want)

You would assume married couples would be able to know what the other thinks and how they see the world. That's not the case from a study referenced in the book: "More time together did not make the couples any more accurate; it just gave them the illusion that they were more accurate."

The longer you know someone, the higher chance you will overestimate how much you understand them. This was illuminating for me. It made me realize that I must stay curious to know those I love better, or I will fall for the illusion.

Think about someone you've known for a long time. If you had to guess how much of them you know, what percent would you say? Take whatever number and subtract 30%.

Use that as motivation to learn more about them.

Heard / Saw / Experienced

Heard:

Peace and happiness are our inherent being.

They are the blue sky above. Experience can become the grey clouds that veil the blue sky.

The blue sky didn't disappear. It's still there. Simply hidden by a mood or event.

I listened to a beautiful dialogue between three wisdom teachers. I have been following Rupert Spira for 3+ years now.

He's been instrumental in helping me fall into my being (peace and happiness). Even when life is falling apart.

During my wife's diagnosis, his teaching was pivotal for me to focus less on the grey clouds and more on the blue sky.

If you have the time and patience to contemplate these deep concepts, I encourage you to listen: https://youtu.be/SH4CSrzlIsk.

Saw:

I've (almost) lost faith in where religion is (and going).

How much we've distorted the original message of Jesus.

This culminated when I saw a parody video about a woman preaching. The comments were hideous. Saying women don't belong in the pulpit.

If that's what saved people believe, I'm the furthest thing from saved.

I'm sorry, Jesus. You died for this.

Before I end my rant, let's see how Jesus approached women:

"After this, Jesus traveled about from one town and village to another, proclaiming the good news of the kingdom of God. The Twelve were with him, and also some women who had been cured of evil spirits and diseases: Mary (called Magdalene) from whom seven demons had come out; Joanna the wife of Chuza, the manager of Herod's household; Susanna; and many others. These women were helping to support them out of their own means." – Luke 8:1-3.

Remember, in this period, women were property. Yet Jesus kept these women (Mary of Magdalene) within the inner circle.

There is nothing about regulating them to smaller roles. Jesus included all.

Can we get back to that?

Experienced:

I'm beat.

Waking up at 5am to meditate, write, and lift.
Then (marketing) work from 8-4:30.
Yoga, dinner, and dishes from 5-7.
Finishing by writing and working on my podcast from 7-8:30.

I don't know how much longer I can sustain.

And that's okay.

I've gone past my breaking point before. And I likely will again. There are seasons to life.

I thought of this as I drove past someone carrying everything they owned in a suitcase. How much of a luxury it is to even contemplate about work/life balance.

It's a privilege to be worn out. I'm grateful I can chase my dreams and grow in the process.

I'm lucky. How about you?

Me feeling very tired writing this…

Life Micro Essay 💡Rigidity vs. Fluidity

(Time to read: 2:46 minutes)

"It's why I never wear a watch."

A friend, Josh, mentioned this as we discussed how some people love structure while others, like him, thrive in the unstructured. It made me pause and think, which is better?

I live a rigid life (IYKYK).

From scheduling my day in 15-minute increments to meditating at the same time daily, I try to follow a strict schedule, or protocol, as I call it. One reason is that I don't have to make as many decisions in the moment, freeing up my cognitive load for other tasks (read my essay on delegating decisions to your process for more on this).

Another reason is that I am more efficient when following a routine. I can optimize the routine over time, which results in the most effective process. I can also track my ability to follow the process and celebrate when I stick to my plan (still working on the celebrating piece).

My main reason for leaning into rigidity is to produce the best output. Without structure, I'm a disaster. My anxiety flares up, and I feel I get less done at the end of the day. Rigidity works for me.

Back to my friend: Fluidity works better for him. By not having a watch, he is more focused on the moment than the next task. He also likely has less anger when he inevitably fails to keep to the process (as I do routinely). He can move through the day and his life with more grace.

This wasn't the first time I realized this difference with my friend.

A few months back, we were having dinner with our spouses and asking them about their travel habits. Kate and I have only left the country once. Josh and his wife make routine trips out of the country. They recently visited Nepal.

And that's when they shared that they rarely plan their trips. They plan how to get to their destination and the first stop after flying there, like getting on a boat to travel to their desired destination. And then they let the wind take them where they need to go.

Contrast that with our modern approach of trip planning. We all know that person who, when they go on vacation, has every hour of every day planned out. The goal is to maximize the outcome: have the most fun possible. Maximization of fun is a good goal. But it is ironic that Josh and his wife probably enjoy their vacation more than the overly structured one. He can take the detour, linger longer with a local as they sip coffee, and even visit a place they never even knew before coming.

Note: The perfect balance is rigidity with a side of flexibility.

You can plan your entire trip out while being open to the detours. But I find few have the mental fortitude to hold both of these simultaneously (rigidity and fluidity). It's much easier to go "all in" on one of them. Leverage what works–it makes sense.

A concept or word that helps me to find balance is spontaneity.

Being spontaneous is a skill I struggled with. It felt too inefficient and unlikely to lead to the results I wanted. Well, isn't that a pompous thought...

Who am I to know the exact situations and actions I need to grow into my best version?

I believe God uses random collisions. I believe he hides the most significant growth opportunities within these spontaneous moments. Simply put, you can't plan for excellence. You must let it arise as it wills.

Sure, having a daily protocol is incredibly helpful. And being open to skipping your workout for a beer with a friend (every once in a while) could lead to your desired growth. It's both/and.

While I love my Apple watch and won't leave the house without it, I will try to be more flexible with my schedule.

Thank you, Josh, for helping me see that balance is needed and something I must intentionally strive to obtain. Because, in the end, the outcomes I desire are found at the intersection of rigidity and fluidity.

Where do you fall on this spectrum?

As I’ve mentioned, it was a tiresome week. I’m tired of feeling tired.

I hope the same isn’t true for you. I pray for peace and progress in the coming days. Please let me know if there is any way I can help assist you in that journey.

Thank you for reading this week’s email.

– Jo (every second counts)