A Newsletter on Marketing (and Life) #036

Low-Fi Content + Service + Infinite Mindset

"Who is my neighbor?"

That question leads Jesus to share the classic Samaritan story.

After sharing, Jesus asked the scribe which of the three who passed by was a neighbor to the injured man. "The expert in the law replied, 'The one (Samaritan) who had mercy on him.' Jesus told him, 'Go and do likewise'" (Luke 10:37).

The undergirding of this story is that Samaritans were considered filth. He had no reason to help the injured man but did so anyway.

Who is your neighbor?

The scribe asked Jesus this question because he was referencing Leviticus 19:18, "Do not seek revenge or bear a grudge against anyone among your people but love your neighbor as yourself. I am the Lord." In his mind, he would only assume his neighbor is another Israelite.

While that was long ago, we still live in "tribes." We surround ourselves with those who think and act like us.

The goal isn't to give grace to them. That's easy.

It's to find those who you struggle to hold space for. And sacrifice for them. Give them grace even when it hurts.

Join me in giving grace to those we easily overlook.
Sacrificing for those who don't "deserve it."
Loving the unloved.

Enjoy this week's letter:

Marketing Micro Essay 💡S2E7: Low-Fi Content

We have a misconception about content.

We also have one about life (similarly related).

We believe we need to craft perfect experiences for meaningful connections. We think we can create positive outcomes by being well-intentioned and planned. And you are right. But think about the time and energy it takes to do that regularly. It's exhausting.

And while you can't avoid them, you can have fewer of them and increase more unscripted and "perfect" moments. Essentially have fewer expectations, damn it. Because the truth is, I don't care how clean your home is to have a meaningful time with you.

We have the same belief about content.

To "add value," we need to spend significant time and energy on it and have it be "exceptional." If we don't, our audience won't find value in it, and it'll waste their time.

There is truth in that: spending time on highly produced content rewards your audience. And there is truth in this: Your audience is human and can get value from more human content.

This week’s podcast episode is a solo episode where I dive into low-fi content and why it works wonders.

Three Books / Three Quotes

"It must become marketer + machine." – (NEW) Paul Roetzer and Mike Kaput (Marketing Artificial Intelligence: AI, Marketing, and the Future of Business)

The marketer (and business person) of the future will become infused with AI (machines). Do you believe that?

I'm bullish on this idea, which is why I'm relentless in my pursuit to integrate AI into my workflow and thinking. The sooner you start, the better you will be positioned for the inevitable.

I like to think of AI as my second brain. 

Rather than be pompous and think I can do better work on my own, I include AI into my processes and use it to produce better outputs. I'm humble and curious about improving my work (and life) with AI.

How can you start becoming intertwined with the machine?

//

"Choose learning over knowing." – Amy Edmondson (Right Kind of Wrong: The Science of Failing Well)

As the youngest in my family, I've struggled with needing to have the answers (knowing).

Growing up, I was never physically stronger than my brothers. But I could be intellectually stronger. I could have the answers when they didn't. 

This has given me a habit of wanting to know. Instead of being open to learning and growing. I've seen others struggle with the same issue throughout my short time on earth. Prioritizing knowing vs learning and getting closer to the truth.

Now, I aim to be as close to reality (the truth) as possible, and that almost always comes through (re)learning. Rarely do I know (have the answer).

But I can always learn. How about you?

//

"Knowing others' minds requires asking and listening, not just reading (body language) and guessing (perspective taking)." – Nicholas Epley (Mindwise: Why We Misunderstand What Others Think, Believe, Feel, and Want)

I never was convinced that reading someone's body language could give insight into their mind. And taking someone's perspective was always filtered through my own (lack of) knowing.

Nicholas and multiple studies confirm this. There is little found in body language and perspective-taking. Even though we may feel like we are learning about the mind of another through this.

The solution? Get their perspective.

How do you do this? Ask questions, be curious, and listen well. Let them reveal their inner workings rather than guessing.

"Attempts to get perspective should focus on 'what' more than 'why.'"

Then, repeat that to them to better understand (and help them feel seen). "Understanding other people requires getting their perspective and then verifying that you've understood it correctly."

That's much more work than looking at someone's facial expressions or imagining their thoughts through your limited lens.

Heard / Saw / Experienced

Heard:

I love long songs.

They are great for dishes or reading. One of those songs is Prepare Your Oil by Torchbearers.

It's 12 minutes of genuine worship. One of my favorite parts:

"I feel like I lose my mind when I look into those fiery eyes. Everything changes when I look into your eyes."

While it's impossible to look into the eyes of God, I can look inward and outward at the things God has created. And when I let my gaze do that, I'm consumed.

I'm consumed by love, as God is love.

More of You, Less of Me.

Saw:

Service.

It's a word most of us run from. We love being served, but to partake in providing service to others? I'll pass.

I listened to a fantastic sermon that prompted the opening segment this week. It challenged me to think about how I can devote more of myself to the service of others.

Because through that sacrifice, I can find happiness. Not the quickly fleeting kind. But the kind that fills my cup.

It's counterintuitive. But only through emptying oneself in service can one find the peace and joy hidden within.

How can you serve someone this week?

Experienced:

My dad turned 60 this week.

It's wild to think he's that old (ok, that's not that old). It made me pause and consider how blessed I am to have him as a father.

If I can be half the man he is when I turn 60, I'll be able to die happy.

Not only did he (and my mom) provide me with an incredible childhood, but he continues to support me. Not only through actions and words.

He is a model of who I want to grow into. Over the years, he has grown his thinking and identity.

Two words come to mind: Continuous learning and sanctification.

Few people continue to grow and flourish as they age. Usually, they begin to deteriorate both in physical and mental capacity. Not my father.

I'm grateful to have been bestowed a father like mine.

And I'm determined to be a father figure to the young men who never had that as I continue to grow and hopefully flourish.

Because I know few are as lucky as I am. I don't take that for granted.

White sock GANGGGG

Life Micro Essay 💡Infinite Game

(Time to read: 3:40 minutes)

There are two types of games we play in life: Finite or infinite.

Finite games are those that have a clear winner or loser. Think of a sports game with clearly defined rules and measurements for scoring.

Infinite games are those with no winner or loser. The goal of these games is to continue playing. The rules and boundaries for these games can and do change over time.

This has become a guiding principle for my life because it's easy to fall into finite thinking. Whether in my job or with my content, it's easy to begin measuring with a finite ruler.

Instead, I aim to adopt an infinite mindset for all things I do. To play the long game, some may say. Rather than trying to win today or this year, I figure out how to keep playing and growing, realizing the timeline I'm playing on is infinite.

The original idea comes from James P. Carse's Finite and Infinite Games book. But I've heard it touched on by many other thinkers—We should play the game of life in a way that reflects an infinite timeline.

Do the right thing, invest in the next generation, and leave the campground better than you found it. All these things hinge on having an infinite mindset.

The outpouring of support from you last week was incredible.

While I’m still “in it,” I can say I have peace knowing others are with me and rooting for me. Know that I’m here for you and rooting for you.

Please let me know if there is any way I can help you make progress…

– Jo (every second counts)