A Newsletter on Marketing (and Life) #040

Positioning + Messaging + Context Ft. Anthony Pierri

"What do you want to be (when you grow up)?"

A simple question children get asked.

Yet, imagine the power we (adults) could have if we also asked ourselves this question. And respond with as much imagination as a child would to dream a better future.

Let's ponder this: Who do I want to be?

And let’s do the work to make that a reality.

Enjoy this week's letter:

A Micro Idea On Marketing 💡
S2E11: Positioning + Messaging + Context Featuring Anthony Pierri

Time to listen: 53:29
——

From Pastor to Product Marketing Guru, Anthony knows his stuff.

Currently, he's the co-founder of Fletch PMM, helping early-stage startups refine their messaging.

In our conversation, we discuss:

  1. Marketing's role in generating product demand and making the sales process easier.

  2. The importance of effective positioning in guiding clear messaging and communications.

  3. How focusing deeply on a niche target segment leads to better results than a broad approach.

  4. Tips for crafting capabilities-based messaging that explains how customers use products.

  5. Examining how human tendencies like pride can negatively impact marketing if left unchecked.

Three Books / Three Quotes

"'Pioneers prioritize revenue-generating applications over cost-saving ones.' – "When posed with even the deepest questions about reality, human brains tend toward story." – (NEW) Will Stor (The Science of Storytelling)

It's all about story.

If data were strong enough, no one would eat fast food or smoke cigarettes. But people still do. Because stories win.

In marketing and life.

I believe the Bible is a prime example of this.

The Old Testament is filled with stories that the Israelites would have told to understand the deeper meaning of life. They told these stories to strengthen their community.

As they reflected on their Exodus from slavery into the promised land, it served as a reminder—a way to feel identified with the larger movement.

We're no different, even though we're more advanced. We crave stories (like the Bible story/lesson I just shared).

When you wish to "persuade" or try and help someone, wrap it in a story.

//

"Becoming more self-aware is one element of learning to notice early warnings - and to actively seeking disconfirming data." – Amy Edmondson (Right Kind of Wrong: The Science of Failing Well)

Self-awareness is critical in so many areas of life. It's essential in failing well.

Imagine you are trying to stop drinking. But you're not in touch with yourself and rarely reflect. You keep finding yourself relapsing and can't seem to make progress.

A friend, over a beer, suggests that he think about what leads to his drinking. He takes a sip from his whiskey on the rocks and thinks. He and his friend review a few scenarios and see a few themes.

He's relapsed only on the weekends.
He's always with a friend like he is now.
The weekend he didn't relapse was when he had planned it before.

With more self-awareness, he can now see and avoid early warning signs. To stay clean and make progress.

The same is true for you and me in life, whether we are experiencing burnout, business failure, or relationship struggles. The more self-aware we are, the easier it will be to detect and avoid further damage.

You can seek disconfirming data that helps you move forward. But you need the self-foundation to transform divergent information into learning.

I'm working on mine daily. Would you join me?

//

"If God is a moral compass, then the compass seems prone to pointing believers in whatever direction they are already facing. When other's minds are unknown (like God), the mind you imagine is based heavily on your own." – Nicholas Epley (Mindwise: Why We Misunderstand What Others Think, Believe, Feel, and Want)

We create God based on who we are (thoughts/beliefs/actions).And we become more like that God (and from reading His word).

It's a symbiotic relationship, but I believe the weight of creating God is more on who we are vs. the Bible or an inner knowing of right/wrong.

While you can read the Bible or other writings that define God, much of the defining originates within us. In how we see justice, right/wrong, and the purpose of humanity.

When we can't access the mind of another (especially God), Epley suggests we form one eerily similar to our own. This oozes out when we judge others for actions someone in their "right" mind would have never done. They don't have your mind. They see differently.

It's also apparent when gun-wielding people see a God of vengeance.

I hope this isn't surprising to you as much as it was for me. I can't unsee this tragic fact that we transpose our minds onto God and others.

Rather than staying curious, open to discovering more and finding a "better" understanding through inquiry. This is the path to genuinely knowing someone.

And if you wish to know God, you must take a similar approach.

(Final review of this book – 9.9/10: one of the best books I've read. Highly rec)

Heard / Saw / Experienced

Heard:

"Everyone knows Steph Curry. But it wasn't always that way.

He played for a smaller college, Davidson. Took his team to the final four and lost 57-59 to Kansas. All while relatively "unknown." At least not as great as he is now—he was underrated.

Russ, a hip-hop artist, released a song called Davidson eight years ago. The song touches on concepts of the underdog. He's had a similar, albeit as high, rise in popularity and skill since the "early days."

I remember listening to this song when I was "rapping" in 2016. Listening to it now motivates me to continue with my craft and learning as much has changed since then and can continue to in another eight years.

"I had to leave who I was to become who I am...And I'm only getting better, this is Curry at Davidson."

Saw:

I'm rarely early.

I was waiting for a meeting this Wednesday and saw this little birdy. I enjoy waiting (sometimes) when I can see things I wouldn't usually see.

Many of us with life rarely pause (wait) and look around. We cruise to the next checkpoint, hoping joy and peace come.

It's in observing and looking around that we find enjoyment. When we pause long enough to let our inherent peace and joy rise.

That's what I needed before that meeting and for my whole day.

Experienced:

I'm not a tie guy.

But I donned one for a good cause with a group of good people. Last week, I attended a Hollywood-style event for the Boys and Girls Club of The Bay and Lakes Region.

Getting out with my team and laughing while supporting our partner was fun. (We helped them with messaging and built their current website.)

They raised almost $500k that night. Generosity like that is awesome to witness firsthand.

I'm grateful I can be a part of that and invite others into a life of contribution vs. taking. I’m still continue work on my contribution part.

A Micro Idea On Life💡
Life is about Progress.

Money, fame, and even success aren't life's ultimate goals. If they were, those who have them would be happy and satisfied with attaining the goal.

I believe life's ultimate purpose (goal) is to (infinitely) incrementally improve.

Some call this flourishing or becoming your best self. I concur with those, but what happens when someone goes from "meh" to thriving? They've progressed.

Without progress, no one would reach their highest potential.

Let's take a step back and define this ambiguous word:

Progress first appears as the Latin word "progredi" and is formed from two components:

  • "pro-" (prefix): meaning "forward," "forth," or "onward"

  • "gradi" (root verb): meaning "to walk," "to step," or "to go"

The Latin word "progredi" gave rise to the Late Latin word "progressus," which means "an advance" or "a going forward." The English word "progress" evolved from "progressus" and came into use in the 14th century with the meaning "a moving forward" or "an advance."

One easy place to contextualize progress is with technology. We've made significant technological progress in the past 20+ years. Social media and some negatives came with that progress, but it brought immense benefits for the majority. From GPS to calling someone, no matter where you are located, our lives have improved through this progress.

The same should be true about your life.

Focusing on cultivating daily progress will improve all areas of life. As you improve your health habits, you will find more happiness in work. As you improve your competency, you will create more freedom to enjoy life outside of work. Progress is critical for thriving.

The reality for most of us

One of my favorite miraculous stories of Jesus is when he heals a man lying by the Pool of Bethesda (John 5). Aside from the fact that he healed him on a Sabbath and the (systemic) implications, something else stood out: the man's lack of desire for progress.

But first, what's so important about this pool?

The pool had magical healing powers: In these lay a great multitude of sick people, blind, lame, paralyzed, waiting for the moving of the water. For an angel went down at a certain time into the pool and stirred up the water; then whoever stepped in first, after the stirring of the water, was made well of whatever disease he had. (John 5:3-4). 

This pool had the potential to help someone make progress in their health.

Now to the man, "a certain man was there who had an infirmity thirty-eight years. When Jesus saw him lying there, and knew that he already had been in that condition a long time, He said to him, "Do you want to be made well?" (John 5:5-6). Don't lose that question. I believe it's the hinge that allows for progress. Without the desire for better, we will likely never receive it.

The sick man answered Him, "Sir, I have no man to put me into the pool when the water is stirred up; but while I am coming, another steps down before me." Jesus said to him, "Rise, take up your bed and walk." And immediately the man was made well, took up his bed, and walked. (John 5:7-9). I love how Jesus doesn't entertain his BS excuse. While this man is sulking in self-pity, he heals him. That's love.

I love this story because it resembles me for much of my life. Sure, I can walk and have no "infirmities." Yet I've struggled with many things for years and have had the same attitude: "No one will help me. Or others are further than me, so what's the point?" I'm a pro at self-pity.

It wasn't until I realized the excuses I was making that I could begin making progress in my physical and mental health. It wasn't until I could answer YES to Jesus' "Do you want to be made well?" that I could actualize progress. Nothing will move us forward if we don't take the steps. Well, maybe Jesus, but he hasn't been back since…

I hope you enjoyed this week’s email. I finished it at 7:10pm on a Thursday (new record).

If you’ve read this far, could you do me a favor? I want to continue making this newsletter better.

Could you share some thoughts on what you like or wish there were more of to help this email progress in value?

Thank you 🙏

– Jo (every second counts)